Boat leaning to port

Issac

Jun 22, 2021
Hunter 27 Greers Ferry
Just had a 1990 Hunter 27 delivered. After getting it into the slip, and secured, I went to get something from my truck. On the way back to the slip I noticed from a distance that there was one mast among all the others that was not pointing straight up - my boat. After getting back to the boat, I could tell that it is the boat that is leaning to port, not the mast. I do not see how this could simply be a weight distribution issue. The fuel tank is on the port side, and it is full. The holding tank is port, but empty. The batteries are starboard. There really is nothing else on board. I am being told this is simply a weight distribution issue, and we could fix it by adding weight to the starboard side. I do not like the sound of that solution - make the boat heavier. I am looking for some perspective. My gut is telling me that there is something wrong, maybe in the hull. But, I have no experience with this issue, and I do not want to blow it out of proportion. Thoughts?

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Many boat list to one side or the other. Sometimes it is a weight distribution issue, sometimes it is a build issue.

Laying up glass in a production factory is not all that exact. It is not unusual for the resin to be unequally distributed, such that one side of the boat has more resin in the hull than the other. That and other variables in the build can lead to a boat not sitting on her lines. At the factory, taking time to correct this costs money which leads to lower profits. The solution is to add some weight to the high side, typically lead billets glassed to the hull.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
A full 20 gal fuel tank weighs 160 lbs. if you can counter the list by standing to starboard, you have your answer.
And a 20 gallon water tank weighs 160 lbs. Where is the water tank?