(Another newbie question) My keel sounds like a haunted house.

May 13, 2016
Catalina 22 MK II 15377 Granbury Texas
This question sounds so silly, or elementary, that I didn't want to actually put it out on the forum. I have no problems with the fact that I'm a novice, but some things are probably really simple and I don't want to ask a stupid question.....but here one comes...

There is a "Whirling" sound coming from under the boat while sailing. It sounds like an old door creaking in a haunted house… lol... I would understand if it made a sound while raising or lowering it, but the sound is while sailing.

SIDE-BAR (I did my training on a J-22. The first Catalina I ever stepped foot on was while shopping for the one I bought. I bought the Cat-22 based on research and recommendations from trusted friends.
I was advised to sail with people before buying a boat but that wasn't really an option for me. If I wanted experience, I had to have a boat that I could access that was closer than two hours away. The money wasn't an issue. I figure if I take care of it, I can get most of it back when I move up.....but I digress.)

IS MY BOAT HAUNTED?.......
Just kidding, What is that sound?
Is it anything to worry about?
Do I need to do anything about it?
Thanks
TGM

PTMike

Feb 12, 2015
Catalina, Vagabond 22, 14 Howard Prarie Lake
This question sounds so silly, or elementary, that I didn't want to actually put it out on the forum. I have no problems with the fact that I'm a novice, but some things are probably really simple and I don't want to ask a stupid question.....but here one comes...

There is a "Whirling" sound coming from under the boat while sailing. It sounds like an old door creaking in a haunted house… lol... I would understand if it made a sound while raising or lowering it, but the sound is while sailing.