anchor handling on a Hunter 34

Jun 8, 2020
Hunter 34 White St Helens, OR
I am new to Hunters and the idea of a recessed anchor well. where does one storage they're anchor rode and chain. the previous boat I was on we carried 350 of chain before we went to rope/line.

Has any one installed a deck pipe in the anchor well to feed chain and ride under the vee berths?

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
All my Hunter sailboats had/have an anchor locker in the bow, without a deck pipe pipe in the locker, where I stow 350 feet of rode. I installed a shelf below the horizontal windlass (like shown in the schematic diagram) to facilitate feeding the windlass / locker and getting it off the wet floor. The Cruising World and Practical Sailor articles discuss the use of an angled spill pipe to redirect the anchor chain from its original locker in the forepeak to a larger locker farther aft, which not only allows the rode now run freely without piling up, but it also lightens the bow. Maybe others in the forum have done this OR installed a separate deck pipe like the sea dog.

1595974474903.png
1595975012876.png
1595976149244.png

Dec 14, 2003
Hunter 34 Lake of Two Mountains, QC, Can
Attached pdf will show you what I've done on my 34. Lewmar 1000 horizontal windlass with 75' of G4 5/16'' chain spliced to 150' of 5/8'' 3-strands rode. I deepened the anchor well, cut its door in half and built a frame to support the half where the windlass is mounted. The Bruce 17.5 kg anchor stays mounted in place, ready to deploy. FYI, my main sailing area allows me to anchor in 10 feet only with just the chain, but I regularly sail the Lower St-Lawrence River to NB, NS, and Labrador and anchor frequently in 25 to 30 feet of water without any problems. Hope this helps. Good luck

Attachments

Last edited:
Nov 26, 2012
Hunter 34 Berkeley