Toilet bowl unwanted filling

JosefR

Sep 18, 2016
Catalina 30 Gulfport, Mississippi
Please disregard any old posts of mine related to my toilet, my understanding of the boat was wrong and things I posted were irrelevant.

1989 Catalina 30 one year old jabsco pump, 2nd replacement, holding tank empty, just replaced diverter valve and hoses.

Seawater intake (flushing) valve is closed. In either diverter setting, toilet is filling with seawater (?). On tank setting, it stinks bad and fills halfway. On overboard setting, it fills and overflows, but doesn't stink.

ALL THRU HULL VALVES RELATING TO THE TOILET ARE IN THE OFF POSITION.

Is my joker valve on the bottom of the pump bad on a year old pump? How else can water be filling the toilet? And where is it coming from? I'm guessing I'm pumping the same half gallon of water out repeatedly.

Last edited:

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
I would be concerned that you could sink the boat! I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't want the "flapper" (joker) valve standing between the boat and the bottom of the sea.

On my 1984 C36, the toilet discharge hose leads to the top of the holding tank. The discharge is from the bottom of the tank to a "T", one branch of which goes to the deck waste fitting, the other to the macerator pump then through-hull with seacock. The seacock is normally closed, handle removed (per USCG regs).

I don't know how, on mine, the toilet could back up, unless the tank was absolutely full - it has tried to back up in this condition, but leaks out the vent onto the deck first.

Note, I do not have a direct, toilet to sea connection; it only goes to the tank.

Dec 2, 1997
- - LIttle Rock