Yanmar 20gm starting issue

3GGG

Jun 23, 2024
Hunter 285 Guntersville
Yanmar20gm sat for a few years 2-3 wo being started. Got it started using starter fluid and it ran fine afterwards. Replaced batteries and engine would not start. Any help would be great as I am new to diesel engines.

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
I am not a diesel expert but I did just buy the book and have read it recently. So you will probably get better advice than what I am about to give... but here is the link to the book so that this post is not a total loss.:biggrin:

My limited understanding from what I just read is that (assuming compression is okay) it is either starved for fuel (check filters and fuel lines) or the glow plugs are not getting hot (check voltage). If it is turning over without starting then voltage is not the problem. Are the glow plugs getting hot? If so then it is a fuel problem.

3GGG

Jun 23, 2024
Hunter 285 Guntersville
Rgranger thanks for the quick reply! Thanks for tbe simple break down I appreciate it. Ordering book today.

dmax

Jul 29, 2018
O'Day 35 Buzzards Bay
Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Did you change the fuel filter?

What's it do when you hit the start button?

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
The diesel engines on our boats really demand little to work.
Air, clean fuel, and compression.

You indicated you gave the engine starting fluid to get it to run. This is often done to facilitate a start, but it can mask problems.

You state “replaced batteries and now it won’t start“. Does this mean the starter motor is not turning over? Check your battery connections.

Next on the list is AIR. Make sure you have a clean air source. Nothing blocking the air intake ( like a rag).