trailer extension

Sep 11, 2021
Catalina 22 22 mkII Sebastian
can anyone help point me in the right direction for some videos that show how to use the trailer toungue extension.

Mar 20, 2015
C&C 30 Mk1 Winnipeg
can anyone help point me in the right direction for some videos that show how to use the trailer toungue extension.
Not every boat has one. I assume they were optional or added later

If your trailer has an extension, they can be slightly different.
Is it permanently attached to the trailer and it slides out ?
Is it a separate piece that you connect to the trailer ?

Post photos of yours.

Sep 11, 2021
as soon as I can get by the trailer I will. though I feel like it's a slide out one. I've never used one before so this is new territory for me.

Jul 13, 2015
Catalina 22 #2552 2252 Kennewick, WA
Don't have a good shot of it during deployment-- but if you have stock original trailer the main receiver would have been a sliding tongue. In my pic the main extension was rusted shut so we welded it permanently and added a secondary extension offset from center.

Using it is simple-- I block the trailer, disconnect from the truck-- extend the tongue to what is typically my 6' pin -- I can go all the way to 10' if the ramp warrants (never need it), and then re-hitch to the truck. At parking lot crawl I position to the ramp fully extended and fully rigged -- launch and retrieve. Before the drive home I drop the trailer again and return the hitch to the towing receiver and home she goes.

File_006.jpeg

File_007.jpeg

Grotto

Feb 18, 2018
Catalina 22 Wilmington
Don't have a good shot of it during deployment-- but if you have stock original trailer the main receiver would have been a sliding tongue. In my pic the main extension was rusted shut so we welded it permanently and added a secondary extension offset from center.