Outhaul

Jun 11, 2015
Catalina 22 Seattle
Can anyone help with routing my Outhaul? First time setting up my '81 C22. Not sure what previous own had set up, but I'm a rookie and it easy to confuse me. I'll try to attach pictures of both sides of my boom (having trouble adding two pictures, but I'll keep trying)

Attachments

Nov 19, 2008
Catalina C-22 MK-II Parrish, FL
The outhaul on the C-22 from the factory is pretty weak. The eye straps and the cheek block in your photos is part of the reefing system. There is some good information on outhauls the racers have developed in the C-22 Tech Manual. My out haul is another design inspired by someone else. It actually uses a gooseneck fitting on the rear of the boom and a couple turning blocks. Anyway, got off course as usual, but there should be a cleat on the port side of the boom maybe 3' or so from the rear. The outhaul line simply goes from the clew of the sail through the little pulley on the top rear of the boom, and back to the cleat to secure it.

Don
Out Haul 001.jpg
Out Haul 002.jpg
Out Haul 003.jpg

Jun 11, 2015
Catalina 22 Seattle
CaptDon,
Thanks for the input. I noticed in your photo that you had a strap that led from the clew to the boom slot. I don't have any such device, just loose footed to the Outhaul. Should I install one? What would I call it?

Nov 8, 2010
Beneteau First 36.7 & 260 Minneapolis MN & Bayfield WI
Don, why not just run the outhaul line through the SS eye at the clew, and loose all the stainless? Less weight, less to go wrong, and basically the same amount of friction.

Sep 30, 2013
1988 Catalina 22 North Florida
My outhaul is woefully inadequate. I need to pay attention to this thread. Love the gooseneck idea, Don!

Here were a couple ideas I saved a while back:

Sep 30, 2013
That's not what I have. The images I posted were of outhauls I was thinking about using, just pics I found in the past and saved.

Nov 19, 2008
Catalina C-22 MK-II Parrish, FL
Cainsoccer,