Dinghys

Dec 30, 2009
jeanneau 38 gin fizz sloop Summer- Keyport Yacht Club, Raritan Bay, NJ, Winter Viking Marina Verplanck, NY
Hi all ,gettin closer, even here in jersey its warmin up.....I am needin a dinghy and looking at walker bay, any thoughts, 10' looks like a pretty good little boat. I could use some advice for a dinghy, most time 2 people, once in a while maybe 4, is this asking too much? How about the inflatables, hard bottom, soft bottom? I have no experience with these at all. Thx Red

May 23, 2004
I'm in the market as were . Colonial Beach
Drive around an area near the water and look around to see if you see any dinghies in people's back yards that looks like they have sat for a while. I found my dingy that way and offered the guy $200 bucks. I was out of there with a nice dingy at a good price. It needed a tad of fiberglass work but that was a cheap fix too.

Also look at Craigslist and similar places. There also are abandoned dinghies at marinas sometimes. I like my fiberglass dingy since I tow it all of the time. It works great for what I do.

druid

Apr 22, 2009
Ontario 32 Pender Harbour
I had the Walker Bay 8 for many years. It's great for one person, useable for 2, but quite tippy. I'd guess the 10 would be better for 2-3 people, but 4 would be pushing it. I don't really see the purpose of the inflated collar around the WB's - if you want an inflatable, get an inflatable!
Which brings us to... inflatables. Most folks have inflatables for dinghies, but for some reason almost never deflate them. They're VERY stable, can usually take a pretty big outboard (but are a BEAR to row!), but be very careful hauling them up on a rocky of barnicle-infested beach.
Personally, I don't like inflatables because they have no soul, but that may not matter to you ;)

druid

Apr 19, 2012
O'Day Daysailor 17 Nevis MN