YSE8 issue. Only runs at high idle. Please help.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oct 13, 2012
Catalina 26' Oakland
I'm a diesel mechanic, with no experience with these smaller inboards. My friends YSE8 will only start at high throttle, once throttle decreases it dies. Fuel filter is clean, valves are adjusted, it's getting air, regulator valve needle is clean/working. I have removed Governor lever/linkage and am throttling it by rotating regulator shaft. Basically, it will only run at max throttle anything lower the engine shakes/stalls out. Meaning, we can't moved the boat. Am I missing something? Experienced YSE owners please help!

Thanks

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
Try looking at the mixing elbow where exhaust is mixed with fresh water. Maybe clogged abusing engine to cut off.. Remove and inspect replacing if necessary. Yanmar suggests replacing these every 5 years.

Oct 13, 2012
Catalina 26' Oakland
Something in the governor/injection pump. Your going to have to dig farther.

Heres a manual. Reading some of it regarding your problem, it could be as simple as disassembling the pump and cleaning it.

http://sailingboatefaki.gr/Engine Manuals.htm

Yeah your right, governor/injection pump. Pump only works whens needle valve is fully seated, once backed off even a hair it loses it's ability to pump. I'll disassemble and clean pump first if that doesn't work I'll find another one. Thanks for manual link, I actually have that paper manual. It doesn't give much info regarding serious troubleshooting though, the engine is so basic, they just leave it up to you to figure it out.

Oct 13, 2012
Catalina 26' Oakland
Try looking at the mixing elbow where exhaust is mixed with fresh water. Maybe clogged abusing engine to cut off.. Remove and inspect replacing if necessary. Yanmar suggests replacing these every 5 years.
Great I'll check it out.

May 27, 2012
Oday 222 Beaver Lake, Arkansas