Yearly bottom paint......

NYSail

Jan 6, 2006
Beneteau 423 Mt. Sinai, NY
Hi Greg,

I alternate - one year in the water, the next year haul out, sand, paint, etc/. I have been doing this since 2010 with excellent results. I have been using Pettit paint - Ultima SR 40 or SR 60 depending on price and availability. I clean the bottom about once a month and have just a little slime build up that wipes right off. The only exception is the bottom of the keel - that gets barnacles because I can never get paint on that part of the boat. After two years most of the paint has worn off. I sand any remaining paint off so I don't get any build up. I put two coats on the bottom and an extra coat at the waterline and leading edge of the keel and rudder.

For me it so much cheaper. Winter storage in the water is $500. Haul out is over $2000. Bottom paint and painting supplies are another $500.

Barry
Do you winter at the yachts club??

Oct 2, 2008
Pearson/ 530 Strafford, NH
I’ve been using Pettit ECO and most of it is gone after two cleanings. I’m ready for something new.

Feb 26, 2011
Achilles SD-130 Alameda, CA
I'd be interested to hear Fastbtms thoughts on the Seahawk Biocop tf. I know he doesn't recommend any Seahawk tin based paints.
I don’t recommend any Sea Hawk products. I have never found one that was worth a damn here in the Bay Area. On top of that, the company is run by a gang of morally reprehensible felons.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Oct 26, 2010
Hunter 40.5 Beaufort, SC