Yanmar water temp

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Joe Warren

I have just (30 days ago) purchased a Hunter 30 with a Yanmar 2QM15 Diesel engine. I use the engine to get from dock to deep water and return. Going out no problem, returning usually 3 to 4 hours later the temperature sensor warning sounds immediately Fuel and stays on during the complete return trip. Since I am a novice to this size boat (Daysailer owner previously) what do I replace first? The sensor, the Water pump impeller, both? Also the fuel gage on this model boat is almost impossible to read. Any suggestions besides a mirror?

G

Guy LeClair

Start from intake

Hi Joe, I`ve inquired about a similar problem recently in this forum and I suggest you find that thread, I got some really good pointers which helped me resolve the problem in the right sequence. In summary, start investigating from the intake through-hull, hoses, strainer, impeller, etc. My problem ended up being the intake gate valve (disintegrated gate I believe), and had I followed the advice given beforehand, I would have saved a lot of time. My boat is the H31, and the title of my inquiry was I believe, "Yanmar 2GMF13 overheating". I was told there is also a lot of info in the archives. By the way, I would never keep going with the overheating alarm on. One way to check if you are really overheating is to put your hand on a hot water hose - if you cannot leave it on for more than a second, you're probably too hot. If you really have to motor, slow down considerably and/or open up the engine compartment to allow cooling air to help. Good luck!

Dec 2, 1999
Hunter Vision-36 Rio Vista, CA.
Is you raw water intake open?