Winches

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 22, 2010
Oday 25 Cooperstown, NY
Hello all. I'm relatively new to all this so hopefully I'm not rehashing something.

I own a 1983 O'Day 25 and I have a winches that does not turn. It was working fine last season.

Does that mean it has seized? If so what or why has this happened?

Is there some approach to fixing this or is this the sort of thing that is better to just replace?

Thanks in advance.

Jan 24, 2005
Oday 222 Dighton, Ma.
Hello all. I'm relatively new to all this so hopefully I'm not rehashing something.

I own a 1983 O'Day 25 and I have a winches that does not turn. It was working fine last season.

Does that mean it has seized? If so what or why has this happened?

Is there some approach to fixing this or is this the sort of thing that is better to just replace?

Thanks in advance.
I would take the winch apart and see what is going on. It probably needs lubrication but the fiber spool may be expanding with the heat. Try to find some info on that particular winch on the web first. Then be careful when you remove the drum. There are small springs that work with the pawls that can get lost pretty easy. Perhaps you could take a shallow cardboard box and make a hole in the bottom just large enough to fit over the drum and set it on so that if something pops out, hopefully the box will catch it. I'm sure that someone who has had this problem will chime in on it. I know that back in 1986, my Barlow #15 winches were binding up due to the inferior fiber spools that the manufacturer had used. They sent me two new spools and I've never had a problem since. I think that I've only lubed my winches once since I've own my boat new. Good luck!
Joe

Jun 22, 2010
Oday 25 Cooperstown, NY
Thanks for the quick response. I believe the winch is a Barlow #16 I've been searching around in here for a bit and found some reference material.

I'm on duty today so tomorrow morning when I go of shift I'll get a better look.