Why is my C22 so slow??!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

Henry

I would love to compete in our fleet races but my C22 simply cannot keep up with other boats. And I'm not talking a few boat lengths behind, I'm talking finishing the race 30 minutes behind the others. Especially in light air does my boat seem to really lag. I have an '89 C22 with a new main and the original 150 furling gennie (in fair shape). My sail trim is as good as I can get it (telltales flying straight aft, etc). Has anyone else experienced this frustration? What are some possible reasonable solutions? Could it simply be a "slow boat"? I don't necessarily need to win the race, but I just want to keep up. Thank you in advance, Henry

Dec 2, 2003
Catalina 350 Seattle
Thoughts on Slow Going

I'm no expert, but the following stuff comes to mind: Dirty/fouled bottom Too much stuff aboard/too heavy Weight placement (crew) on boat (too far forward/aft) You mentioned a new Main, older Genoa, are you possibly carrying to much sail for the conditions? Is the boat healed a lot? Flatter is faster (generally), although now that I read your post, you say you have particular problems in light air - you might be over trimming things - when in doubt, let it out - give the sails a little more shape/power in light conditions and try to get your speed up. Might be trying to pinch too high for the conditions - try heading off just a bit to build speed. If you bought the new main from a local loft, you might be able to have one of their folks sail with you and check your setup. What are the other boats doing different from you? Do they carry similar sails (i.e. 150%)? Are you the only one with a furler? If so, you might be entitled to some rating adjustment as the furler will be slower than the non-furling. Do you have more problem downwind than upwind? Are other boats using a whisker-pole to fly wing and wing? Hope these thoughts help some. Tim Brogan April IV C350 #68 Seattle

Jun 2, 2004