Why change oil twice?

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
Like Stu indicates it sounds like a myth to me. Follow engine's manufacturer guidelines and if there are none then that is the answer.

Mar 3, 2003
Hunter 356 Grand Rivers
I follow the Yanmar guidelines for my 3GM30F -1235, change at 100 hours and my Northern Lights 5kw generator at just under 3,000 hours, change at 200 hours. I used to do it seasonally when I would winterize for three months. I'm not a mechanic, and I won't go much beyond these numbers, but I really don't see why a boat Diesel engine is any different than a car or truck. You don't change the oil every month in your car or truck and I wonder why these low hours are necessary. Not recommending anyone go more, but why so short a time?

Feb 6, 1998
Canadian Sailcraft 36T Casco Bay, ME
I've yet to see any credible data that suggests changing brand new oil is worth doing.

That said I change my oil twice in the fall, before layup, to get it perfectly clean.. Warm up, drain oil, change filter & oil, run, change oil again but not filter, run, check cleanliness of oil, seal engine intake, seal exhaust outlet, put to bed...

In the spring crank it over, with fuel shut off pulled, a few times, before actually starting it.. I do not change perfectly clean & unused oil in the spring...

Jan 12, 2011
Hunter 410 full time cruiser
I put less than 100 hours a year on my engine and only change my oil at the beginning of season in Spring. I know the reason people give about not letting the 100 hour oil sit in the sump all winter, and that oil changed in the Fall and sitting all winter has moisture in it. But I tested the old oil at the start of the spring once and it was good far as pH, sediment, and water so think the double change falls into the useless things people do because it makes them feel good more than any impact on the engine.

Aug 7, 2012
Hunter Hunter 34 FL