Where to find additional info . . .

Status
Not open for further replies.

ddeand

Oct 12, 2010
Hunter 170/18 Everywhere
Since I'm new to the Hunter club, I'd like to find some additional info on my boat. As I mentioned in a previous post, I have a Hunter 170 with a replacement fiberglass Hunter 18 hull (or more accurately, a Hunter 18 with 170 sails and rigging from 2006). Since the 170 sails are smaller than the sails that come on the new 18s, I figure that at some point, when I need to replace the sails, I'll get the sails that are appropriate for the 18. Right now, the smaller sails will work fine as I learn how to sail this boat. The differences in mast height and sail size opens up some interesting options for me in the future.

But I would like to find more info about the dimensions, manufacturer, design, etc. of the sails for the two models. Most of the other info I need seems to be available in on this forum. I'm just wondering if there are other websites that go into more detail about these boats? Where do you guys go for your info?

Thanks,
Dean

Jun 2, 2004
Hunter 37-cutter, '79 41 23' 30"N 82 33' 20"W--------Huron, OH

ddeand

Oct 12, 2010
Hunter 170/18 Everywhere
Thanks, Ed -

I did e-mail Hunter, and they provided me with the Owner's Manual for the 170and that had the I-J-P-E numbers. Apparently, they don't have the manual for the 18 yet. There are so many questions I have about the different way things are measured on these boats. E.g., the mast height on the 170 is listed at 25'6" and the height on the 18 is 24'6" - yet the sails on the 18 are apparently larger. Where do the measurements originate? Is the mast height measured from the bottom of the hull, the bottom of the deck, the actual length of the mast itself, or a combination of some of those? How different is the mast step height on the two models?