What year is my Widgeon need someone with Widgeon experience

lmddmc

Aug 8, 2021
Oday Widgeon Lake Palestine
I have several Questions I am new to Widgeons what are these screws for, they are fore and aft they are probably not stock to the boat , 2nd What year is my Widgeon hull # 1056 and the class is 295W just wondering. 3rd Does anyone know what this hole is next to the forestay Bracket. Does any one know where I can get parts? Thanks for your help in advance

Attachments

Feb 21, 2013
Hunter 46 Point Richmond, CA
Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your new Widgeon!!

1. My best guess is previous owner screws installed for an unknown reason as an internest search on "O'Day Widgeon images" did not see these. Suggest removing the rusty screws to see what they connect to and replacing them with new stainless screws or if not functional filling the holes then gelcoat to make them dissappear.
2. I assume the boat does not have a hull number and built before November 1, 1972. Year is likely 1965 based on Hull ID Help - Mariner Class Association (usmariner.org) .
3. Again my best guess is previous owner holes drilled for an unknown reason as an internest search on "O'Day Widgeon images" did not see these. Suggest filling the holes then gelcoat to make them dissappear OR create a new function for them.

Ohh the mysteries of owning a used boat is discovering the functionality of holes and screws OR simply adding them to your worklist to fill in and gelcoat over. I have the same issue on a recently purchased 1984 boat ........ so I have been filling in holes in and gelcoating over, replacing rusty screws or simply installing stainless steel bolts/washers/nuts in case I ever discover a future function for those holes.

Attachments

Last edited:

lmddmc

Aug 8, 2021
Oday Widgeon Lake Palestine
Hello hunter 46