What should I look for...

Sep 11, 2013
Catalina 25 6106 Lake Erie Metro Park
...in a potential Pearson purchase? Tomorrow I'm going to look at a '73 Pearson 26. Owner states that the boat hasn't been in the water since 2009. Stored on tandem axle trailer. Lots of sails. Auto pilot. Furler w/ split drum. I'm a little concerned however because he had the transom rebuilt (professionally he said) due to rot.
I've been sailing a Catalina 22 for two years but still consider myself a novice.
What should I be looking for? I know nothing about Pearson boats....

Thanx,
Tom

Jan 1, 2006
Slickcraft 26 Sailfish
The Pearson 26 is a venerable design that is forgiving while being a real sailboat.