West Marine CPP Ablative Antifouling Paint - Opinions?

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
This year, due to my new "retired" and "fixed income" status I've decided I couldn't afford the newly higher priced Interlux Micron CSC bottom paint at $300/gallon, so I opted for the WM CPP @$110 on sale. I am pretty sure it's made by Petit.

Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with this stuff? I'm hoping for 2 seasons per application, and assuming two coats per application.

It's not too late to return it! So, looking forward to your comments.

Thanks,

jv

dLj

Mar 23, 2017
Belliure 41 Sailing back to the Chesapeake
I've no experience with that product but if it is indeed made by Petit should be good.

dj

Aug 11, 2011
O'day 30 313 Georgetown MD
I used CPP on my old boat. It lasted for two seasons, but that was all. I saw significant paint removal after two seasons. I will say the boat was in the water the whole time. I used 1 and half gallons to do two coats and extra two coats on leading edges, on a 26ft boat. You are correct. It is produced by Petit.

I get the fixed income view. Think about how long do you think you'll be sailing. What is the cost of hauling and two years with CPP and doing it all again in two years vs. Hauling once and using a multi season paint like PCA over four years? PCA on sale now for $170. Just saying.......

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
Does anyone have any knowledge or experience with this stuff?