West Coast of Lake Huron

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 8, 2007
Hunter 27_75-84 Sandusky Harbor Marina, Ohio
East(!) Coast of Lake Huron

Thank you who responded to my request about the North Channel!

How about focusing on the trip up there, on the west coast of Lake Huron. Point Edwards to Bayfield looks like a long leg. Then there are the islands and bays from Kincardine Tobermory. Do you recommend stops to break up these legs? Where to you stop on the way there?

Thanks again.

Last edited:
J

James P

West Coast or East Coast

You seem to be asking about Canadian Ports, which to me would be the East coast of Lake Huron (but the West coast of Ontario). I have some experience with the Michigan ports, if you are interested.

Which coast are you interested in?

Jun 2, 2004
Catalina 36 Port Clinton, OH
David, First, how much time do you have for the trip? I have made the trip to the North Channel four times the past six years traveling both Michigan and Ontario coasts. Our first trip we had 7-8 weeks so time was never an element. Our first trip I decided to stop at all the Canadian Ports on the way to Killarney, so we stopped at Windsor, Sarnia, Bayfield, Goderich, Kincardine, Port Elgin, Tobermorey, Club Island and Killarney.
Bayfield is a nice tourist town, been there once.They had a nice bakery and pool at the marina in Goderich, and we always plan to be in Kincardine for the Saturday Pipers Parade. Port Elgin is a must stop because going to Tobermorey from here is a long trip. The trip to Killarney is shortened with a stop at Club Island, weather permitting.

When you arrive at Sarnia or Port Huron, the weather might dictate what coastline you travel.
In 2008 we stopped at Port Sanilac and Port Austin in Michigan, then over to Kincardine and up the Canadian coast to Tobermorey. That year we spent a month in lower Georgian Bay Islands near Midland, them to the North Channel stopping at Parry Sound, The Bustards, and Collins Inlet.