Water heater hose

Apr 9, 2014
Hunter 33 Davis Island, Tampa
I'm new to engine maintenance and am trying to determine whether our engine has a water heater hose. It used to have a hot water heater, but it was removed. I'm assuming we won't have a hotwater heater hose because of this, but want some confirmation since I'm draining out our coolant and flushing with clean water before replacing the new coolant and I've read that you need to flush out the water heater hose during this process. I've attached pictures of our engine below. Thanks for any help!

Attachments

Dec 15, 2009
Hunter 30 USA
The two hoses that appear to go into the floor in the first picture are probably going to the water heater.

Jan 6, 2010
Par,

#1, do you have a hot water tank?
#2, are there hoses coming from the tank?
#3, can you follow the hoses to anywhere on your engine.

The pics don't really tell me anything, make a sketch & you should know what hoses go where. You will find what's really going on.

Check this out & let us know what you find.

CR

Nov 6, 2006
Hunter 34 Mandeville Louisiana
On my 3 GM, in the middle picture, the aft-most hose sends water to the heater coil and the one just behind the pulley is the return hose from the water tank coil .. or where the coil used to be..The return hose has a bleeder in it to be used for burping after refilling. Someone probably just put a jumper (connected those hoses together) back where the heater was so that when a new heater went in, it would be easy. Those hoses on the back side look to be fuel return from the injectors back to the tank and a tee to the fuel pump.. That is a little strange.

Rick

Oct 5, 2004
Hunter 420 Passage San Diego