Troubleshooting my bilge pump circuit reset/fuse

Oct 3, 2014
Marlow-Hunter MH37 Lake City, MN
The gist of the problem, other than that I'm a noob, is that I'm not sure how the bilge reset works on my battery switch panel. Or perhaps they are not resets but fuse holders?

See the photo below. There are two red buttons marked 50 for the battery and 25 for the bilge. You can see that the battery button sticks out farther than the bilge button. The battery button, when pressed, has a springy feel to it. The bilge button doesn't move at all.

IMG_20170528_170237.jpg

Then I thought, perhaps they're fuse holders, not buttons, but they won't twist, at least not with the amount of force I'm willing to give them.

The manual I have for the boat is fairly complete, but it does not mention how this panel works. Are these fuse holders or reset pushbuttons?

Here's how this issue came about.

Two weeks ago while cleaning out my bilge of my '92 Hunter 33.5, I had the bright idea to pour a bucket of water in the bilge to give the pump (the original pump, I'm told) a good workout. I started pouring water, the pump kicked on, and all seemed good.

I was pouring faster than the pump could keep up and about the point where the pump was nearly submerged, it quit running. I flipped the Auto/On switch to On and it ran for less than a second before quitting again. Another flip of the switch and for just a blip of time then nothing.

Since it did come back on, however briefly, that tells me that I didn't blow a fuse or trip a breaker. Could it be that the pump burned out?

I have a new pump in hand and am eager to get it installed but I want to figure out how my system is wired. I know how it's supposed to be wired but I'm not sure where the fuse is if it's not part of the battery switch panel. I opened up the electrical panel where the Auto/On switch is and there's no fuse there, not that I would expect it to be. I don't see anything that looks like a fuse holder near the batteries.