Toerails holding water. What have people done to modify or correct this?

Apr 25, 2019
C&C Landfall 38 Toronto
Hello,

I am helping my friend fix up his boat. I'll say up front I'm a woodworker, not a sailor so forgive me if I get my terms wrong or am missing something painfully obvious to everyone else. The toerails at the back of the boat are continuous and hold water and therfore are starting to rot. A previous owner drilled one small hole in the rail on one side but it clogs easily, is drilled a bit above the deck by a few milimeters and we worry the wood will rot inside the hole.

Is this typical construction for this boat (I see other brands have gaps in the rail to allow water to drain) and if so, has anyone done a retrofit or custom tweak to solve this issue?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Jason

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
Gladstone welcome to the forum.

Just guessing here (providing a boat make and model is always a positive idea), wood toe rails are usually unique to the basic boat. Water does get flushed over the rail. Most boats have a drain to let the water return to the sea. So if your boat is missing the drain you would be wise to install one. A drilled hole is, as you implied, inadequate.
You can make cuts in the toe rail and install “scupper guards”. If you are looking for ideas I’d do a google search for “scupper image wood toe rail “ as a start.

TomY

Alden Forum Moderator
Jun 22, 2004
Alden 38' Challenger yawl Rockport Harbor
Hello,

I am helping my friend fix up his boat. I'll say up front I'm a woodworker, not a sailor so forgive me if I get my terms wrong or am missing something painfully obvious to everyone else. The toerails at the back of the boat are continuous and hold water and therfore are starting to rot. A previous owner drilled one small hole in the rail on one side but it clogs easily, is drilled a bit above the deck by a few milimeters and we worry the wood will rot inside the hole.