To Buy or not to Buy

Aug 6, 2015
Hiya Folks,

Thinking long and hard about a Catalina Capri 22, I believe after registering the specs should show up in my profile on posting. But here goes anyway;
Sail #786, wing keel, tall rig, seller says 1996 build, he's the 2nd owner. Only ever seen fresh water on the Susquehanna here in SE PA.
Good shape, although minimal equipment, main and a furling jib, (flexible plastic luff with single groove). Old Mariner 5hp 2stk long shaft motor.
Only saw it last night on it's trailer, a Load Rite in decent shape with good tires.

I'm no newbie to boating and sailing, 20 yrs of racing on Sydney Harbor and a coming on 40yrs of cottaging on one of the 1000 Islands, St. Lawrence River.
Been around boats a loooong time.

Now in semi retirement I'm looking for a minimalist cruiser for the NorthEast. Cruising the Great Lakes, a trip down the Erie Canal, gunkholing in the Chesapeake et al. The shoal draft appeals, though from all reports I will lose a bit of upwind performance, though with the tall rig I'm thinking that the extra couple feet of mast and mainsail aspect/ratio should help. After having a hard look at the wing keel, I'm also of a mind that it could easily be improved with some fairing of the leading edges, more bulbous, and an extra 100#s of lead bolted on the bottom of the wings. An extra couple inches of draft wouldn't hurt.

A motivated seller, he's moving shortly, closing on his new house upstate on Monday, so a quick decision is in order. He's come down 10% to $3800.
So the question is should I jump in? Without a sail? Rigging and mast look VG, sails decent, he's had some restitching done, and it's seen very little heavy weather if the seller's story is correct. Running rigging is a bit tired, but the winches feel good. Cushions and interior very clean, he's never spent a night on the boat.