Tips for dealing with Shipboard Medical Emergency

Jun 14, 2010
Robertson & Caine 2017 Leopard 40 CT
FYI. Good info found in the George Town Exuma Sailors and Cruisers Facebook forum

Originally posted by Dale Phillips
· February 24, 2020 ·
A huge gift from Donna and Patrick from Jersey Girl
Shipboard Emergency!
1. Introduction:
a. Who am I
i. Retired Emergency Physician. License un-renewed 2018
ii. 35 years in rural ER’s
iii. Wilderness survivalist and instructor
iv. Wilderness awareness and tracking instructor
v. As a physician I was not at the top of my class nor did I seek extra letters to place behind my name. In general I was a
rogue who looked for the simple way and who distrusted anyone who was being paid as a sales person, which, toward the
end, was pretty much everyone.
b. Considerations for sourcing medical information
i. Despite quite a few years of scientific investigation there is
very little that is known for a certainty, much less than you would imagine. Certainty means multiple well-designed
scientific studies done by persons and institutions that do not have a financial connection to the process or product being
studied and agree on the same outcome. This is class A information.
ii. Class B information is when multiple but poorly designed studies that may have been done by interested parties that
don’t study exactly the same subject in the same way but never-the-less seem to generally agree at least according to
some people who often are ‘experts and leaders with a lot of letters behind their names but are also likely to be paid to
say what they say even while they vehemently deny it.
iii. Class C information, the most common, is what a bunch of white haired doctors have always thought was true.
1. Which has been proven wrong often unfortunately.
iv. Class TV is where most lay people get their actual information.
1. Despite the fact that it could be good information delivered by a powerful medium it isn’t and the creators of it feel it is