Tidal Currents Trip planner App

Jan 7, 2014
Beneteau 45F5 51551 Port Jefferson
I have been using an Tidal Currents trip planner for a few years. It's an app where you plug in your route, date and boat speed and it computes the best departure time based on the tides. It's great for long cruises, especially in parts of the eastern Long Island sound where the tidal currents can be pretty strong. It looks like it has stopped working and is no longer available for download. Does anyone know what happened to them or of a good replacement.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Aquamaps has pretty current and tide reporting on their app, however it does not do automatic route timing.

Although I've had little experience with tides and currents, not much of them on Lake Ontario, when I was in tidal water, I didn't find the planning all that difficult. I just looked for the most important area to watch for current and worked backwards. It worked pretty well on our trip a couple of years ago. We were able to take advantage of the currents in the Race and through the East River using Eldridge as our guide.

• Helpful
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
We have a lot of issues with tidal currents here in The Salish Sea. Automatic systems are a risky.
I use Coastal Explorer (a PC based software). I compare with DeepZoom.com the route can adjust the departure and see the affect without having to calculate the details using a tidal chart.

OPENCPN is a free software that shows the affects of the tide on your route.based on a timeline that you identify.

• Helpful
Jan 7, 2014
Beneteau 45F5 51551 Port Jefferson
Thanks for the replies the best thing about the app is that it can tell you what helps more, 6 hours of a one knot push or 2 hours of a 3 knot push. and all the combinations in between. some of our trips are 10 hours so it's nice if you can optimize the trip. Tidal currents trip planner was very accurate, if you put in enough waypoints.

Oct 22, 2014