surging diesel

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Steve W

My 1986 Universal M-18, (14 hp FWC) diesel is surging 100rpm at any setting between 1400 and 2000 rpm in gear. No surging in neutral at any rpm, and no surging below 1400 rpm in gear. Fuel is clean, filter is recent, checked the coupling alignment and motor mounts look ok. The only things left I can think of is a bent prop, bad cutlass bearing (was fine in January) or the engine governor has gone bad. There is a vibration between 1400 and 2100 rpm (in gear) that fades a little above 2100rpm. No vibration in neutral. Do I have twp problems or is one problem causing both symptoms? Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

B

Bob Camarena

Transmission Slippage

I'm no expert, but have you considered slippage in your transmission? The fact that the surging occurs only under load and not at lower rpms makes me think that slippage might be the answer. The governer wouldn't be different in neutral than in gear. The cutlass bearing and bent prop could be explanations for the vibration, but don't sound like they'd explain the surge.

D

Dave Emery

Surging

I would continue to review your fuel system to correct the surging. Most times this is where the problem lies.

M

Mike s/v Chute the Breeze

Fuel Flow

I agree with Dave, to continue to look at your fuel system. Fuel oil is funny stuff it will allow green moss to grow in your tank and may not shut off fuel flow, but will restrict it just enough to allow your engine idle but surge under a load. I'd blow out the lines and take a look in the tank.. also check your air filter, but it's pretty hard to get that dirty enough to starve the engine but it might. Mike mosilver@netnitco.net

T

Tom Lincoln

Maybe fuel contamination