Sunfish help

Jul 30, 2019
sunfish 14 long island bay beach
Hello to all! Looking for knowledgable sunfish sailors. I am new to sailing. I have been up and down between a new sunfish and pre-owned. With much thought I decided on new, until....
I found an 1983 AMF sunfish that has been garaged from 1983-2017, asking price 2200.00 , comes with "Like new" Trailex Trailer w/ title. Honestly I do not know anything about AMF vs Sunfish.... I need to make a decision because I am sure the AMF will be gone at a bat of an eye...
Anything you can share to help me in the right direction will truly be gratefully appreciated

Thank you!:)

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
The biggest issue with the Sunfish is water logged hulls. There are a couple of known issues and places where water can enter the hull and saturate the styrofoam blocks that support the deck and provide flotation.

The main culprits are the at the base of the mast step and the centerboard trunk. I'm sure a little time with google will yield more information than you can consume on this issue.

The quick test is the boat's weight. If I recall correctly the boat (hull only) should weigh in at about 110 lbs.

Once the boat gets waterlogged, it is simple in principle to dry it out. Notice the simple in principle. The standard process is to cut a hole in the deck and install an inspection port, then leave the port open and try to get enough warm dry air to circulate to dry the foam.

Jul 30, 2019
good morning and thank you. Yes I have heard of the water logged problems. The new boats no longer use foam, they changed to airbags... I was a little questionable about that...being new to sailing I felt this was a good starting point for me. thanks again

Sep 24, 2018
O'Day 25 Chicago