Sun Cat water in the hull

Aug 16, 2015
Compac Sun Cat Lake Hartwell, SC
I'm brand new to sailing and got a free Sun Cat that has been swamped. I have it cleaned up and sailing but it takes on water that I can't find the source of. I've replaced the self-healing valves on the stern and looked at the cockpit drain lines which do leak a bit. They wouldn't account for the water coming in while floating.

I'm thinking of:
1. Replacing the gaskets on the centerboard bolt. They are misshapen. Ideas or helpful hints?
2. Inspecting around the keel by removing the trailer guides. Repairing any bad Fiberglas though I didn't see any during the clean up phase.
3. Taking it off the trailer using wooden or styrofoam blocks, ropes on the cleats and mask tied off to a tractor or tree and two 2x4 and plywood stands for balance. Use the tractor to ease it over on its side so I can get to the inside of the centerboard well. Repair any bad Fiberglas or just put on a heavy coat of resin and then painting (I need to paint the hull anyway!)
4. If all the above fails, take it to a shop!

First, how heavy is it? Will I damage it laying it over? Can I get it back upright using the cleats and mast? It would make me sick to ruin a great boat. Any suggestions, tips, cautions or ideas are most welcome! And yes, I have given this a lot of thought.

Apr 2, 2007
-Catalina C-36 Hull 1041 & Marshall 18 Catboat - W2CWL Punta Gorda, FL
Sun Cat Waterin hull

Hi;
Yes, well I had the same issue in a Picnic Cat made by Compact. The issue is in the construction of the centerboard trunk and the method in which the trunk is attached to the hull of the boat. That is where your leak is at that joint. It took for ever to figure out where the water was coming from and once located, it was not an easy fix.