Stray Current?

Sep 25, 2008
Catalina 30 MKIII Varuna Boat Club
We are having a "discussion" at our Club about whether or not being continuingly hooked up to shore power can cause problems for other boats in the marina? My '97 MKIII has a galvanic isolator and I am using a Hubbell 30amp power chord. The shore outlets have been checked for polarity and there are no problems there. My contention is that my boat is not contributing to any of the problems. Opinions please?

Feb 20, 2011
Island Packet 35 Tucson, AZ/San Carlos, MX

May 24, 2004
CC 30 South Florida
It is like the Covid-19 it was good at the last time tested. 12V leakage should not be a problem. The life span of the sacrificial anode in the prop shaft should provide reasonable evidence of whether there is an ongoing problem.

Jun 2, 2014
Catalina 30 mkII - 1987 Alamitos Bay Marina, LB, CA
I’m no expert, but I’ve asked a few people about this too because one of my dock neighbors mentioned something that they were having issues losing bolts to their out drive.
After asking someone with experience, I was responded with smiles and a response like “it’s been claimed many times but usually never proven”, and to just look at your zincs. If there was a problem with your boat, your zincs would show it.
Anyway, that’s the basic gist of the response I got.

May 7, 2011
C - 30 # 3573 Lake NormanNC formerly Bflo NY
RP

Two things are necessary for stray current to cause a problem.
#1) The 12v negatives need to be bonded to the shore power ground (green) behind the panel ABYC *requires* this. The purpose is safety in case there is AC leakage to somewhere on the boat or into the water. The path to ground bleeds it off before someone is electrocuted.
#2) The green ground needs to be connected to "earth" i.e., tp the power stanchion and to an earth grounding rod.

You have #2) broken by using a GI. That protects both you from others', and everyone else from your stray current if you are leaking.