Stay At Home projects: Lanyards and Helm Wheel Wrap

Ward H

Nov 7, 2011
Catalina 30 Mk II Barnegat, NJ
Since, like everyone else, I'd have plenty of time to complete some of those projects on my "Would Be Nice" list, I started playing with Paracord braiding.
First up was making wrist lanyards for my boat and rigging knives. I followed some basic instructions, then would braid up a lanyard, take it apart and make it again a little different until I liked the result. This was also a good time to inventory my boat and home knives as I like folders and some were getting rusty.
Here is that result:
IMG_0051.jpeg

My next project was soft shackles. While talking to my buddy @jssailem about soft shackles I mentioned I couldn't find a ceramic blade foldable rigging knife. Next thing I knew he gifted me one. This knife has ceramic blade, stainless marlinspike and SS body. It is a work of art. Here's a close up:
IMG_0053.jpeg

Soft shackles got put on hold when I decided to wrap my helm wheel. I tried a few methods and braids, different cords and researched different knots.
I asked here on the forum and @sail sfbay responded with a link to a thread on how to do a Turks Head knot at a spoke position. That solved one of my main problems. Many thanks to him.
I ended up using Paracord 550 to wrap the wheel and Paracord 425 to do the Turks Head knots. I wanted small knots at the spokes, wanted to mark port and starboard and a larger Turks Head knot for the center position. Here is the result:
IMG_0043.jpeg IMG_0045.jpeg IMG_0046.jpeg

Soft shackles are up next but now I'm scheduled to launch this Friday so back working on the boat for now.

JRT

Feb 14, 2017
Catalina 310 211 Lake Guntersville, AL
Love it @Ward H ! I need to do that center knot to my wheel which PO already wrapped!

PaulK

Dec 1, 2009
Sabre 402 Southport, CT
Doesn’t the blue wrapping on the wheel clash with the autopilot trim color? You should probably change it. ;)

• Helpful
Jun 21, 2004
Beneteau 343 Slidell, LA