Spray foam in bilge. Any idea why??

Jan 19, 2024
Catalina 22 Sea of Cortez
Hi all,
Total newb here, desperately looking for a trailerable boat with a cuddy cabin, in my price range.
There's not alot to choose from here in Baja just north of Cabo.

So when I saw this Catalina 22 for sale in my price range I was prepared to make an offer..until I saw this.

There's spray foam in the bilge! It seems to be held in by thin
wood or something, but it's def spray foam.
Why would anyone add spray foam in these areas?
There's so much I could see the bottom of the sink funnel had foam under it too.

Also there are hose clamps on the compression post.

The current seller says it came this way, he says he's had it over 10 years and he doesn't know anything about those.
Suggested it came made with foam for extra flotation. I don't think that sounds right.

Why would someone spray foam in this area? Any ideas?
Thank you

Attachments

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
Can only guess that a previous owner hoped that it would add to the flotation of the boat. Does it cause any problems other than being just plain weird ?

As far as the compression post goes :

1705876442668.png

Could it be easily replaced should the need arise ?

Jan 19, 2010
Hobie 16 & Rhodes 22 Skeeter Charleston
I think @Ralph Johnstone nailed it.

I'd look carefully at the outside of the hull just to make sure that the foam was not a half-brained idea to slow a leak from a crack.

Also take a very hard look at the swing keel. All old boats need some love but the swing keel requires a lot of effort to maintain and some POs will have done the "out of sight out of mind" approach to keel maint.

A lot of us have restored keels so it may not be a deal breaker if it is in rough shape but the price should reflect the following...

1) Condition of the keel _Lot of work to fix
2) Condition of the sails _ Expensive to replace
3) Condition of the outboard motor _ Expensive to replace and/or repair