SPLIT WATER TANK

Aug 11, 2011
O'day 30 313 Georgetown MD
Hi guys, need some help. My Starboard side water tank seems to have developed a split in one of the two dips. Anyone out there have knowledge how to fix. My guess its a polyethylene tank, but I have no knowledge about how to tell. Sorry, didn't think to get any pictures. I know I'll have to empty the tank, sand and clean the areas, but I have no idea what sealant to use. Would like to make it a permanent fix. Any help is appreciated, thanks guys.

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
What year is you O30 ? I have a 1988 O’Day 322.

I removed my water tanks, painted under them, added clean outs, and then only installed one (30 gal each).
I was surprised at how robust the appear. Not at all brittle.

There may be a way to “weld” the crack, but beyond my knowledge to advise you.

Hopefully someone with some plastics knowledge can provide some guidance.

Greg

Aug 17, 2013
Pearson P30 202 Ottawa/Gatineau
Look for a plastic welder near you, I just had mine done, he put 3 3x3 patches and only charged me 80$ cdn

Aug 11, 2011
I removed my water tanks,
Looking at your video, it seems to be the removal is straight forward. How ever my boat does not have a removable access panel to get to the tanks, one with lips around to then lay in the cover board. I believe the tanks are put in place before the inner liner is dropped in during build. To remove the tank I would need to cut away the gel coated fiber glass top. Maybe a project for next winter.

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
Looking at your video, it seems to be the removal is straight forward. How ever my boat does not have a removable access panel to get to the tanks, one with lips around to then lay in the cover board. I believe the tanks are put in place before the inner liner is dropped in during build. To remove the tank I would need to cut away the gel coated fiber glass top. Maybe a project for next winter.