Something is very wrong I'm told....(help please?)

Feb 5, 2019
Macgregor 26x cranston ri
I am completely new to this... 1st boat...purchased from widow of owner.carefully following directions.....the 'crowd' at marina says 'Kevin, you have something way off...it just doesn't look right' Attached is picture of mast 'base' after we raised and bolted everything down .cables were perfect length.....everyone's thoughts please?
My sincerest thanks from Dad and his kids

Attachments

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
Khanlon,
Sorry, I'm unfamiliar with your boat, but nothing stands out as amiss. The step looks centered, it folds down towards the stern where the bolt channel is. There is, perhaps, more rake than usual, but that is a matter of preference and some boats are just designed to have a lot of rake.
Was there something that seems particularly concerning?

Welcome to SBO. Soon enough another Mac owner will be along to offer a more informed opinion.
Good luck, but I don't think you have anything to really be concerned about.

-Will (Dragonfly)

Jim26m

Apr 3, 2019
Macgregor 26M Mobile AL
Do you have a pic from further back, showing the rake of the mast? I'm with Will. Nothing looks terribly amiss at the step. Maybe the rake is way off. Kind of looks like that might be the issue.

Feb 5, 2019
Thanks soo much for your reply........Well, my mast is leaning further back than any sailboat nearby, .. and when other boater walk by, they all seem to point to the fact that the mast is not sitting flush on the hinge(GAP!)...and that there is an additional GAP between the hinge and the base....and they have me nodding my head yes, if there were no gaps , things would look more secure....the only item that seems secure is the base itself...bolted tightly on top of the boat

Jim26m

Apr 3, 2019
Macgregor 26M Mobile AL