So, you're thinking of going Electric...

Oct 19, 2017
O'Day 19 Littleton, NH
A nicely put together video. He has clearly spent a lot of time and money on his research and trials.

I was surprised by the prices of his generators, but I have no recent experience with that.

I would point out that he needn't have talked about sailing against the counter current issue. Such a strain on the milage would be the same for any in-water propulsion system.

Clearly, there is a lot of cloud cover in the tropics. Considering his current investment, I hope he considered adding an at-anchor wind turbine.

-Will

May 27, 2004
Hunter 30_74-83 Ponce Inlet FL
Will, the difference is that with electric, you will use up your limited power reserves
much quicker than with an reasonable supply of diesel.

Jan 11, 2014
Sabre 362 113 Fair Haven, NY
Thomas's conclusion may be accurate, however, the data is provides is total BS. He clearly does not know the difference between and kilowatt and a kilowatt hour. And tell me where you can repower a 50 ft boat for $10K? A repower will for his boat will run in the $50+K range.

Here are a few examples.
1706557749518.png

Panels are not sold or marketed by the KWH, they are marketed and rated by watts. Generally good quality panels will yield about 3-4 times they nominal rating over the course of a day on average. Thus, a 100 w panel will yield about 300-400 watt hours. This has been my experience with the panels on my boat, it is what Nigel Calder estimates, and it is what Delos reported in a recent video. He likely has nine 700-800 watt panels, that would put his power production at 3 * 800w = 2.4kwh. Close enough to his 2.5Kw. With 9 panels he would generate about 22 KWH.

1706558470434.png

Ok, so if we do the math, he needs 730 kWh to go 528 nm. Let's do the math, that is 730/528 = 1.38 kWh/nm. What we don't know is at what speed he is traveling. What we should know is power consumption is not a linear function for diesel or electric.