So many questions - 24ft Laguna Windrose

Nov 3, 2020
Laguna Windrose 24 Gilbert
Hello - this is my first post. I just purchased a 1974 24ft Laguna Windrose and now I need to learn how to sail. So, to back up a little, I have had 5 power boats and a waverunner in the last 20 years. 3 very fast 18ft flatbottom speed boats, a 27ft large freeboard openbow and a 21ft wakesurfing boat I ordered new. I only tell you this because I am not completely new to the water, but I am completely new to sailing. I got the sailing bug after watching all of the popular sailing channels on YouTube and now my 10yr plan is to sail off into the sunset when I retire. I need to get started.

I live in Arizona, so from where I live there are really only 2 close options - Lake Pleasant and Lake Roosevelt. My plan was to take some ASA sailing classes, then buy a cheap boat to learn on over the next 5 years, then buy a 35-45ft true blue water boat and set sail. We have always had the plan to travel around the country with our 35ft travel trailer after I retire, and we have had a few boats, so it just seems like a better plan to buy a sailboat and travel around the Bahama's/Mediterranean.