Sail slide stop

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jan 24, 2005
Oday 222 Dighton, Ma.
Here's a sail slide stop that I've been using for many years that is fast and easy to use. It involves a small diameter braid line tied around the mast with a reef knot. As most of you know, a reef knot is nothing more than a quick release square knot. Fortunately, I have a mast winch that is situated in the right place, that supports the line above the sail slide feed track, that keeps the line from sliding down the mast. I recently decided to tie the braid line to the winch bracket with a small twine. If you don't have a mast winch you could still use this idea on your boat by installing a plastic wire clip with a stainless steel machine screw to hold it in place.
I've tried those "knob thingies" that they sell at "Worst Marine" and I don't like them. If you're not keen on drilling and tapping a small hole in your mast, maybe you could just use Velcro for now and try it out. I've found that the Velcro which is sold in Automotive stores is more heavy duty with larger hooks than the fabric store variety. I recently purchased some at Auto Tech and I've been using it in the interior of my boat and it holds up pretty well. Give it a try and let me know if you like it. The winch on my mast is on the Port side, so I make the reef knot on the Starboard side. You may prefer the reef knot on the Port side. It's entirely up to you.

Attachments

Dec 1, 1999
Hunter 28.5 Chesapeake Bay
On one of my previous boats, I just used a piece of 1/4" bungee with a plastic hook on each end wrapped around the mast as a sail stop. I've also used a SS bolt, that fit into the sail track, with washer and a wing nut as a sail stop. I'm curious to hear what others have invented and used. Whatever works, works...

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego
Just a small screw tapped into the track... works well with flat track slides, might be a little harder with bolt rope slugs.

Jan 24, 2005