S2 27 #50 goes back in the water

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

Bob T

Previous owner hauled her out about 6 years ago after buying a new boat. Wednesday 8/25 she'll be launched.
I've spent 4 weekends going over the basics and anything further seems to require getting her wet and shaking her down. One more seacock to replace first. Then watch the new shaft packing... Big question marks are just how old the sails are. Are the instruments still sound? And how much the rig will be out of tune. I'm new to a boat of this size, so bring on the advice. I have to move her about 50 miles up the Chesapeake to her new home. That ought to be a pretty good 'get acquainted' cruise, eh?

Dec 6, 2005
S2 8.0 c Chesapeake City, MD
Bohemia River

Look forward to seeing another S2 up here! Where are you keeping her?

B

Bob T

S2 27 #50

I'm mooring at Two Rivers. A little nervous about the depth there, but mine is the shoal draft version @ 3'9".
I did see another S2 in one of the adjacent marinas when I was scouting. A little bigger... good looking boats!

Dec 6, 2005
Hi neighbor

I'm right next to you at Bohemia Vista. I have the shoal draft center cockpit, I'll look for you this weekend.

B

Bob T

Made it!

Hi John, I admired your boat a few weeks ago scouting for a home berth. I'll be in the dirty S2 27 on ball # 1 next door. I got in about 8:30 last night after a long day on the water. I started out in Chesapeake Harbor right outside of Annapolis about 9am. It was a good day for a maiden voyage, even though wind out of the east is usually not a great thing in these parts. It must have kept everyone else off the water, I saw astoundingly little traffic the whole way.

Now to borrow a pressure washer for the topside algae or lichen green fuzz crap in all the non-skid. And then a seal treatment or wax or what else do we like on 22 year old fiberglass?

The questions will keep coming...

Bob

BobM

Jun 10, 2004
S2 9.2A Winthrop, MA
Congratulations