Replacing Packing - Guidance Wanted

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Don

Weekend project is to repack the shaft on my new (to me) '93 37.5. Boat is in the water and, as I have never done this before, I'm a little nervous. I'm planning to use the Teflon impregnated packing (1# right?) Right now the nut is tightened all the way down, otherwise there is quite a drip (call it a leak.) What should I anticipate doing and happening when I do this? 1. Take the nut off. 2. Water comes in? and? I will have a second set of hands with me. Thanks guys.

E

Ed Schenck

Pretty scary, eh?

Did mine while on the hard. It took me so long I wonder how much water would be in the boat before I finished?! First cut three rings to size using the shaft as your guide and an angle cut. Then you back off the locknut. Next you unscrew the packing nut which is really a collar with the stuffing inside. You will want to have something to stuff into the stern tube around the shaft to slow the water ingress. The first problem is getting the old packing out, and I had all the prescribed tools. Once the collar is completely clean insert the three rings and stagger the cuts. Put her together and adjust for about three drips per minute. If you use two rings and put the "dripless putty" between the rings then you can tighten for NO drip. Used dripless all last season. Good luck.

P

Peter Roac

Did mine