Rebuild of high pressure fuel pump for Yanmar 3GM30F

Feb 16, 2021
Hunter Legend 35.5 Bellingham
I had my high pressure fuel pump checked out as there was a small leak coming from it, and the shop came back with the following:
  • Pitted delivery valves
  • Scored plunger
Likely causes are water in the fuel system at some point in the past.

The cost for a rebuild is $1187 before tax.

Does anyone have experience with this? Does this sound reasonable and right? Is a rebuild likely to improve performance and necessary?

Dec 25, 2000
Hunter Passage 42 Shelter Bay, WA
Define small leak. If just a slight weep and the engine runs okay, then let it go for awhile. I have no experience with rebuilding these machines. Take the time to check around and get some more opinions, but if you do, the shop rightly so may charge you a diagnosis fee.

Nov 22, 2011
Ericson 26-2 San Pedro, CA
Agreed. The tech told me new pumps are no longer available, but cost over $2k when they were.
Based on what I just turned up on this page, if I'm reading it right, that sounds correct! But just looking at this page, it does appear that you can get one--if you're willing to pay that much.

Feb 16, 2021
Based on what I just turned up on this page, if I'm reading it right, that sounds correct! But just looking at this page, it does appear that you can get one--if you're willing to pay that much.
Thanks for that! Looks in line with what Tri County said. Even with that, I was surprised at the rebuild cost.

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
The guys at Seattle Injector did my work. Great guys. Stand behind their work. Decent turn around.

Feb 16, 2021
I already pulled the trigger, but called Seattle Injector just to see. They said $450-$550, 3 week turnaround.
Next time, but hope there’s not a next time.

jssailem

SBO Weather and Forecasting Forum Jim & John
Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA