Ray network

Aug 1, 2011
Catalina 270 255 Wabamun. Welcome to the marina
Is there an easy way that anybody knows to hook an stNG network bus to a laptop to see what's getting transmitted (or not) We'd probably need a white Ray (spur) cable to something and something to either serial or usb.

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
Tartan 3800 20 Westport, MA
You can get a CAN bus interface for about $25, and free analyzer software for the PC .

May 20, 2016
Catalina 36 MK1 94 Everett, WA
A bit more than $25 but I have an Actisence NGT-1. It does exactly what your asking.

Les

jviss

Feb 5, 2004
(By the way, I have no experience with these.)
This one is $24
(I removed the link due to possible malware or malicious software.)

Last edited:
May 20, 2016
What analyzer software are you using?
@jviss I’m using the software that comes with the ngt-1. I get descriptive info on the sensors as well as LEN values from each of the devices - so I can balance power input. I can see transducer offsets that show depth being adjusted for depth to keel or depth to waterline. Update frequencies for the different pgn’s......

If I want the Signak-K server can hook to it and populate the Signal-K world and do stuff like control the autopilot from my watch....

Les

Aug 1, 2011
Thanks @LeslieTroyer , I did look at that, it's the NGW-1 converter that's the root of all evil here, but it's not the problem. Something on the network is unhappy, and I think the way to get to the bottom of it is to start unplugging stuff. It only requires taking 2/3 of the boat apart, sigh, again.

Feb 14, 2014
Hunter 430 Waveland, MS
Something on the network is unhappy
Two key items that will cause a SeaTalk upset...
1) Auto pilot controller
2) Flux compass.
Why?