Raw water pump replacement questions

Dec 31, 2020
Catalina 30 Gig Harbor
Hi all, another newbie here with a question or two. Recently bought a 1987 Catalina 30 Mk II. The raw water pump on the Universal M-25 engine has failed, I’ve procured a replacement. A few questions, along with a request for any additional guidance concerning the process for pulling old and installing new (I’m a bit of a newbie):
1. The engine is installed in a pretty tight space, and just getting the mounting bolts out looks to be a challenge, especially for an old (70) coot like me. Given the cost of replacement bolts, and the tight space, any hints about how to get those buggers out?
2. When installing the replacement pump (Oberdorfer N202M-15), should I use some grade of Loctite or similar to hold the bolts in place?
3. The gasket between pump and engine body: just clean and smooth, or use some sort of form-a-gasket or a thin film of oil?

Mar 6, 2008
Catalina 1999 C36 MKII #1787 Coyote Point Marina, CA.
Good choice on oberdorfer. The gasket is included with the pump. Just install it. No treatment required. I do not have your version of engine, but removing bolts should be no problem.
Consider replacing the hoses aswell.
Haro.

Jan 4, 2006
Hunter 310 West Vancouver, B.C.
especially for an old (70) coot like me
70 ? Don't kid yourself :doh:. I'm up the mast again for general inspection and a few repairs in April and only wish I was 70 again.

1. It's coming out with penetrating oil, a bit of waiting, and a judiciously placed breaker bar. Oh yes, and the foulest salty vocabulary you can come up with. It really helps.

2. No need for Loctite, just the required torque as stated in the engine manual. You're sure to find a copy somewhere in the Universal M-25 archives here.

3. Don't know Universal M-25 gaskets but @Stu Jackson will know.