Questions regarding boom and gooseneck.

May 19, 2016
Catalina 30 Riverside, NJ
Hello,

I am new to sailing and have some questions as to rigging on the C22; specifically the boom and how it connects to the mast. Any assistance or help is greatly appreciated.

1. How is the gooseneck of the boom supposed to be connected?

In my boat there is a simple screw and bolt being used, and it does not look right to me. Can someone explain or show how this is supposed to be?

2. My boom appears to be set a little high to me. There seems to be a set screw that limits how low the boom will be in the mast, or hight above cockpit. When I look at it the top of the boom appears to be in the gate of the mast, and is coming out a little bit. Should I lower the set screw an inch or two to ensure the boom resides completely in the mast?

Sep 8, 2014
Catalina 22 Swing Keel San Diego
Oh God.... Can someone else please help with this because just looking at that hack job makes me homicidal...

Sep 8, 2014
Snoopy... please tell me you did not do that to your boom? the P.O. did it right?

Jul 13, 2015
Catalina 22 #2552 2252 Kennewick, WA
Oh my...

Clevis Pin is your friend -- definitely a ferrous (looking) bolt is not quite right... picture below:

clevis.jpg

and the wood screw should be replaced with your choice of:

harken shackles.jpg

It also appears that you have some ferrous fasteners on the gooseneck /boom attachment-- those as well should be replaced with Stainless.

Jul 13, 2015
OMG... I was focusing on the fasteners... holy crap who butchered the mast end of the boom?
Ugh.... you kinda need a new one. Below is what that end should look like (may not be exact)-- solid aluminum extrusion with gooseneck fitting flush:

boom.jpg

May 19, 2016
From CloudDiver's comment, I took a more critical look at my photos and can now see that the gooseneck is not installed into the boom correctly. I believe the boom needs to be shortened so that the gooseneck is fully installed.