Questions about the running rigging on a C22.

May 19, 2016
Catalina 30 Riverside, NJ
Hello,

I am new to sailing and have some questions as to rigging on the C22; specifically the running rigging. Any assistance or help is greatly appreciated. I am trying to put all the questions in a single posting so you will recognize how green I am.

1. How should the tack of the jib be connected?

When I look at the deck plate at the bow there are three holes. The first one, furthest from bow has the forestay connected, is this correct? I assume the first hole would be more likely to attach the job shackle, and the forestay would be in hole number 2, or 3.

Here is a photo of how it is hooked up currently.

2. How should the job sheet be routed?

Initially, I routed the jib through a pulley on the cabin roof (red circles), then through a cam cleat. In light wind, this worked, but as the wind became stronger I think the jib sheets should be routed outside the standing rigging to a pulley on a track on the side of the hull (blue circle). I've seen PVC piping on some C22s to reduce chaffing of the jib sheet, so I assume it should be routed this way. Is this correct?

3. There are two pulleys at the bottom of the mast, attached to the cabin roof. What are these used for?

4. There are pulleys at the base of the mast, on each side of the halyard line, are these supposed to be used when hauling the sails up?

Thanks,

Snoopy_

Slartibartfass

Capri 22 Mod
Dec 13, 2015
Catalina Capri 22 1139 Mamaroneck, NY
Answer re 1. Don't know about the holes as I have a Capri 22 but you better check the stem fitting that it has been reinforced underneath the deck. Otherwise based on the cracks/condition of the deck it will only be a matter of time until you have a catastrophic forestay failure, meaning it will get ripped out potentially and the mast will go.....