Question about Rhodes 19 and Mariner

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Chris Kottaridis

I have stumbled across some local boats for sale, an O'day Mariner and a Rhodes 19. I am trying to get some information on the differences. I have no persoanl knowledge of O'day boats so expect some stupid questions. It seems the specs are about the same, but the Mariner seems to have more of a cabin, while the Rhodes 19 seems to be strictly a daysailer. Any info on a comparison of the two would be appreciated. It seems that in general Mariners are more popular and that Rhodes 19's are harder to come by. I guess I am a little interested in how easy it is to resell one over the other. That way if I decide to upgrade boats, or maybe decide sailing isn't going to work for me, one might be easier to resell then the other. The Rhodes models seem to go back to 1959 and stopped being manufactured in 1980 while the Mariner started in 1963 from what I can figure from poking around the web. I don't know if the Mariner is supposed to be an upgrade to the Rhodes or not. Any historical information would be interesting. Any comparison of the sailing characteristics would be appreciated. If I do buy one of these it'll be the boat I learn how to sail on (not exactly true I have done some sailing before by renting but it's been a while). My wife isn't particularly sea-going and would prefer a stable boat (assuming I could get her in it at all). I am a little more adventurous and wouldn't mind at all hiking out a bit if need be. While most of the time I'll be handling the boat by myself, I do want to be able to take non-seagoing type, like my wife, out with me and I want them to have a good time. All we have is a bunch of rather small lakes here so there is no concern for "big" seas, but we do have high winds that kick up pretty fast. Where in the hull of these boats would I look for the hull numbers? Thanks for any info or advice Chris Kottaridis

B

Brian

Tough Choice