Proper path for Jib sheet

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

Ward

Well, I finally took the maiden voyage with my h23 Sunday... What a blast. Being a novice, I am confused where the Jib sheet should be run. I have a 110 jib. I have attached the sheet on the clew then ran the line on the inside of the spreader stay wires, through the block near the side stay chain plate and then to the rear winch. I did this on both sides. When I pull the sheet in real tight everything is fine, but when I let it out the jib hits the side stay wires and if I let it out a lot, the tack area of the jib hits the front stancions and life line. Is this right??? If I go on the outside of the spreader guys, I don't think I could sheet the jib in far enough. Sorry to ask dumb questions, but I have few sailors around here to ask. Also, the sheet line for the jib was 1/2 inch line. God this seems heavy and barely fits under the cleats in the cockpit. Seems like 5/16 or 3/8 would be plenty

J

Jon Bastien

Jib sheet routing