Prevent Dinghy Motor theft

Oct 22, 2014
CAL 35 Cruiser #21 moored EVERETT WA
one year I forgot and it corroded locked
Try this product... Corrosion Block.
I have been using it since 2016 On my boat parts. I have used an inexpensive Master lock on my lazerette. First year it started to rust after 60 days exposed to the marine air. Now I spray it inside and out once a year. Have had the same lock exposed 24/7 365 and works like new. Key slips in and out. Tumblers open and close like magic.

RoyS

Jun 3, 2012
Hunter 33 Steamboat Wharf, Hull, MA
You could paint it an ugly color. Back when I started working in construction everyone had a chain and a padlock to secure their ladders on the job overnight. I purchased a wooden four foot step ladder (standard in those days) and immediately painted it baby blue. Never locked it. I still have that ladder fifty years later. Still ugly BTW.

DArcy

Feb 11, 2017
Islander Freeport 36 Ottawa
I used to work in a bike shop, guys there painted multi-thousand dollar bikes with horrible rattle can paint jobs. They didn't get stolen after that.
We also used to say all bikes weigh 50 lbs. A 10 lb bike needs a 40 lb lock, 30 lb bike needs a 20 lb lock... a 50 lb bike doesn't need a lock.

Mar 20, 2004
Hunter 356 and 216 Portland, ME
Thieves are looking for the quick easy grab and get away. Think smash and dash jewelry robberies. All that needs to be done is to slow them down. I had one motor stolen, they didn't take time to disconnect the fuel line, just cut it with a knife.

Thieves also want to be quiet, hitting the handles to break them makes noise.

As mentioned earlier, leaving them on the dinghy and not having the dinghy well secured or lifted out of the water is an invitation. A thief glides up to the dinghy, cuts the painter and tows the dinghy to another location and takes the motor off. If the boat is at anchor or on a mooring, just drift down wind before starting the motor to make a quick getaway.