Polyurethan Stripper?

May 18, 2020
Catalina 27 Port Moody
Beginner here. Want to re-do all exterior woodwork on my Cat 27. Appears that it was stained and then coated with polyurethane. Was hoping to be able to remove the woodwork but it seems to have been bedded in with some sort of bedding and plutonium, apparently. Cannot move the wood without fear of breaking it. Any recommendations for a polyurethane stripper (gel?) that could be used on the in-place woodwork without there being too much concern for damage to fiberglass if some gets on it?

Jan 7, 2011
Oday 322 East Chicago, IN
I removed some teak trim on my O’Day 322 last week. i had to remove all the bungs (little pieces of dowel) covering each screw. The remove the screws. Then gently use a few screwdrivers and pry bars and putty knives to get under the teak. Gently lifting it up, while cutting the sealant. Move down a little and do it again.

i didn’t really care if I broke mine, as I was tired of sanding and varnishing it every few years...wanted something less “high maintenance”.

One came up in one 9 foot piece. I broke the other one in 3 pieces.

good Luck,

Greg

Joe

Jun 1, 2004
Catalina 27 Mission Bay, San Diego