Paint

Nov 17, 2013
Catalina 22 Scottsdale, AZ
I'm getting ready to paint Ole Butterscotch and I've looked at West Marine, Amazon and marine stores for the paint and was leaning toward Interlux.

A friend of mine has a contact with a paint supply company and that contact suggested:

Urethane White - 1 Gallon
Urethane catalyst - 1 quart
Poly Epoxy Primer Gray - 2 gallons
Poly Epoxy Primer catalyst - 1 gallon.

I would be getting the above at a discount as opposed to paying full price for the Interlux and, other than making a small sale, there's no incentive for this gentleman to deceive me. But, I'm a rookie/noob and, as a result, I'm just not sure which way to go. Will this lay on using the roll/tip method just like Interlux? Any special issues that I need to consider?

Sep 8, 2014
Catalina 22 Swing Keel San Diego
That's way too much paint dude... For epoxy barrier coat you need 2 gallons total volume that will do the hull, rudder, and keel. It only took me 2 quarts to put 3 coats on the hull above the waterline, Roll and Tip method, but if you are also doing the cabin, decks, and cockpit white also the a gallon total should do it.

Nov 17, 2013
That's way too much paint dude... For epoxy barrier coat you need 2 gallons total volume that will do the hull, rudder, and keel. It only took me 2 quarts to put 3 coats on the hull above the waterline, Roll and Tip method, but if you are also doing the cabin, decks, and cockpit white also the a gallon total should do it.