Outhaul replacement line

Nov 2, 2016
Hunter 27 2 Rock hall MD
Looking for some guidance on replacing my worn outhaul line on our 1978 H27 with the in-boom double purchase. Do I really need to break the boom open to run a new line? Any help would be appreciated and feel free to PM me. Thank you!

May 27, 2004
Hunter 30_74-83 Ponce Inlet FL
Not sure I understand "Break the Boom Open". You can run a messenger line attached to the existing out haul without removing the boom. Then attach the replacement line to the messenger and string it into position

Last edited:
Nov 2, 2016
Hunter 27 2 Rock hall MD
Thank you ggrizzard. I was hoping that was that was the case. But I couldn’t figure out where it attaches to the purchase system since it’s in the boom. I’m sorry the post was lacking enough information, I’m new to a lot of the terms.

Last edited:

SFS

Aug 18, 2015
Currently Boatless Okinawa
Now I'm confused. You should be able to get to both ends of the line, right? If so, attach the messenger line to either end (though you may want to decide based on the way the line feeds into the boom). Attach the messenger by sewing the two together with some twine. Then sew the replacement line to the other end of the messenger. Pull it all through, and viola! Use messenger that is similar diameter to the outhaul - thinner stuff could get caught outside a sheave and jam.

Nov 2, 2016
Hunter 27 2 Rock hall MD
This may mean there are two lines, yes?
Again, I may have my terminology confused but it’s one continuous line, running through two sets of blocks at both ends of the boom internally. When I take the end cap off I can gain access to one set of the blocks but I can’t tell where the line attaches to the purchase system.

Nov 2, 2016
Hunter 27 2 Rock hall MD
Jon, have you 'lost' one end of the out haul?