O'day 192 halyards to mast set up

May 30, 2018
O'day 192 St Augustine, FL
Hello all, I'm new to sailing and just bought a 192 that appears to be in great shape. I have the original manual for this boat, but it only refers to how to raise the sails, not how to rig the halyards themselves up the mast. For the main, is the halyard interior on the original masts? If so, I dont see where it could exit on the lower end of the mast to feed it onto the winch. If they arent interior then it looks like my masthead is the wrong one as the masthead doesnt extend far enough out to support an exterior halyard. And for the jib, it looks like the halyard should be routed through a sheave/small block that is attached to the exterior of the mast just below the backstay attachment. Is this the correct rigging?
Any insight would be most helpful!

Thanks,
Robin
St Augustine

Last edited:
Jun 2, 2004
Oday Day Sailer Wareham, MA
Some of the 192s had internal halyards, the ones with the Z-Spar mast. there should be sheaves built into the bottom of the mast to lead the halyards out (at least main halyard?). The Jib Halyard should run through a block on the forward side of the mast, just below where the FORESTAY attaches. I have a few pics of the Z-Spar mast, the mast butt pic shows how the halyards exit. The pic labeled 7-3-2012wiring shows another view of the mast base, although no halyard visible. These are pictures that I've found on-line, not my own boat.

Attachments

May 30, 2018
Thank you for the reply. I had not seen that particular brochure before...a good one for my boat year!
Robin

May 30, 2018